The University

    Our Vision

    To be the prime intellectual thrust of the nation.

    Our Mission

    To advance knowledge and skills through teaching, research and services to serve the society.


     The University of Ruhuna is one of the leading universities in Sri Lanka. The University of Ruhuna was established by a special presidential Decree on 1st September 1978 as Ruhuna University college fulfilling a long cherished desire of the people of Southern Sri Lanka.

    Today the University of Ruhuna has a proud history of about 40 years and the University consists of 10 faculties and 57 departments.

    Faculties of Science, Management & Finance, Fisheries & Marine Science, Technology and Humanities & Social sciences are located in the main campus premises at Wellamadama, Matara and Faculties of agriculture and Medicine are located in Kamburupitiya , Matara and Karapitiya, Galle respectively. The central administration unit of the university is also located at the university complex, which is situated in a scenic site at Wellamadama with an extent of about 72 acres.

    The main University premises is bordered by the sea and paddy fields and is in close proximity to Dondara, the Southern tip of Sri Lanka.
    The University offers basic degree programs in their respective disciplines. Depending on the facilities available, M.A. M.B.A. M.Sc. M.Phil. and Ph.D Degrees are also offered . In addition Diploma and Certificate Courses are offered in various disciplines. The University also offers library services, career guidance and sports facilities.


     (+94) 041-2222681 , (+94) 041-2222682
     (+94) 041-2227001 , (+94) 041-2227002
     (+94) 041-2227003 , (+94) 041-2227004
     Fax: (+94) 041-2222681

    © 2020 Department of Computer Science. All Rights Reserved.