Prof. Senaratne- General President of the SLAAS

    Prof. Senaratne- General President of the SLAAS

    The   Sri Lanka Association of the Advancement of Science (SLAAS)  is one of the oldest premier scientific institutions in Sri Lanka established in 1944  with a present membership of over 11,000. Prof. Ranjith Senaratne, Chairman of the NSF, was  inducted as the   General President  of the SLAAS - 2023  by the outgoing General President  Prof. Manuj C. Weerasinghe   at an  induction ceremony held  on the 12th January at the Ariyana Reach  Hotel, Maharagama.  

    Prof. Narada Warnasuriya,  Senior Professor of Paediatrics, Faculty of Medicine, Sir John Kotelawala Defence University and former Vice–Chancellor, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, was the chief guest and Professor Emerita Ruchira Cumaranatunga, founder Dean, Faculty of Fisheries and Marine Sciences & Technology, University of Ruhuna, was the guest of honour of this occasion. 

    Distinguished scientists, academics and entrepreneurs, including Senior Prof. Chandana Udawatta, Vice Chairman, UGC,  Mr. Rizvi Zaheed, Chairnan, Agripreneurs' Forum, past General Presidents of the SLASS, its past and present council members and  SLAAS members were   present on the occasion.

    Prof. Senaratne is the 82nd General President of the SLAAS and it  will result in  greater interaction between the NSF and the SLAAS in a mutually rewarding and beneficial manner to advance the cause of S&T for national development and common good.

    © 2024 Department of Computer Science. All Rights Reserved.